Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men's Volleyball Keeps Season Alive With A Split At The NAIA National Qualifier

Men's Volleyball Keeps Season Alive With A Split At The NAIA National Qualifier

MESA, Ariz. – The Siena Heights men's volleyball team kept the season alive with a 3-2 victory over Benedictine-Mesa and a 3-0 loss to No. 6 Lourdes in the 2017 NAIA Independents National Qualifier.

Siena Heights 3, Benedictine-Mesa 2: 25-20, 25-23, 19-25, 17-25, 15-11

Throughout the match the Saints (15-10) and the Redhawks remained close, neither team reaching an eight-point lead or more over the other. Siena Heights won the first two sets and Benedictine-Mesa fought back to win the following two sets. In the final set, SHU jumped out to a 12-8 lead and eventually won it 15-11 over the Redhawks to take the match win.

Tyler Hubbard-Neil led the Saints with 19 kills and 13 digs. He was followed closely by Matthew Dugan who earned 13 kills and 16 digs. In the back row, Emilier DeJesus made 22 digs as Keegan Crawford finished with 37 assists.

For the Redhawks (11-14), Logan Adcock had 21 kills and 12 digs. Jaron Jones ended with 24 digs and 52 assists.

Lourdes 3, Siena Heights 0: 23-25, 21-25, 27-25

In three sets of action, Siena Heights kept with five points of Lourdes but wasn't able to capitalize. Hubbard-Neil and Dugan led the Saints with 15 and 12 kills, respectively. Dugan earned 10 digs for SHU as Crawford managed 36 assists.

With 13 kills and 10 digs was Evan Gebert for the Gray Wolves (18-7). Leading the assists for LU was Ryan Ferkel with 34.

Siena Heights will return to action tomorrow in the 2017 NAIA Independents National Qualifier in a 12 p.m. MST (3 p.m. EST) contest. The Saints will face off against Benedictine-Mesa, if they win facing Lourdes at 2:30 p.m. MST (5:30 p.m. EST).