Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

11 Saints Named Scholar Athletes, Team Honored as well

11 Saints Named Scholar Athletes, Team Honored as well

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced Tuesday the 2020 Daktronics NAIA Scholar-Athletes and NAIA Scholar Team awards. The Siena Heights Baseball Program had 11 student-athletes and their 2019-2020 team earn these distinctions. 

In order to be nominated for the NAIA Scholar-Athlete, an individual must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, must appear on the eligibility certificate for the sport, and have attended two full years as a non-transfer or one full year as a transfer. 

For a team to be awarded, they must have a minimum 3.0-grade point average on a 4.0 scale for the academic year. 

Earning the award for the Saints was: 

Mike Jones – senior, business administration major from Taylor, Michigan (his second time earning this award)

Collin Bammer – junior, chemistry and chemical engineering major from Grosse Ile, Michigan

Marcus Beeson – junior, accounting major from St. Louis, Michigan

Zach Bloom – junior, accounting major from Swanton, Ohio

Cody Henderson – junior, sport management major from Lewiston, Montana

Jack Malone – junior, education major and social studies minor from Lowell, Michigan

Cal Olmstead – junior, mechanical engineering major from Oxford, Michigan

Jakob Scroggie – junior, marketing major and communications minor from New Boston, Michigan

Jacob Simmers – junior, accounting major from New Boston, Michigan

Bailey Warner – junior, sport management major from Saginaw, Michigan

Andrew Werth – junior, criminal justice major and psychology minor from Dearborn, Michigan 

The Saints team was honored with their 7th NAIA Scholar Team Award and 7th straight honor with a 3.2 team GPA.  The award has been an honor for 13 years. 

To view the NAIA's official release, please click HERE