Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

16 Saints Teams and 85 Student-Athletes Receive NAIA Scholar Awards

16 Saints Teams and 85 Student-Athletes Receive NAIA Scholar Awards

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced Tuesday the 2020 Daktronics NAIA Scholar-Athletes and NAIA Scholar Team awards. Siena Heights had 85 student-athletes and 16 teams earn these distinctions.

In order to be nominated for the NAIA Scholar-Athlete, an individual must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, must appear on the eligibility certificate for the sport, and have attended two full years as a non-transfer or one full year as a transfer.

For a team to be awarded, they must have a minimum 3.0-grade point average on a 4.0 scale for the academic year.

2020 Daktronics NAIA Scholar-Athlete Award Recipients:

Women's Soccer (15): Alexa Scroggie, Ashley Strong, Haylie Curtiss, Isabel Herden, Jen Richmond, Julia Stancato, Kaleigh Mahaz, Kara Bishop, Kathryn Gordon, Kiley Kaczmarek, Lauren Southworth, Macy Llewellyn, Madeline Reau, Magali Romero, and Mia Dronchi.

Men's Soccer (11): Alexander Mittag, Andrew Kozan, Artur Becker, Austin Siterlet, Brayden Stephan, Joseph Nuculaj, Leo Hisamatsu, Nathaniel Kehres, Remy Collard, Uthman Babatunde, and Webster Ruiter.

Baseball (11): Andrew Werth, Bailey Warner, Cal Olmstead, Cody Henderson, Collin Bammer, Jack Malone, Jacob Simmers, Jakob Scroggie, Marcus Beeson, Mike Jones, and Zach Bloom. 

Softball (8): Erika Schwartz, Haley Rose, Jordan Bianchi, Lily Guerra, Maddie Vansaw, Milah Loose, Sam Hill, and Taylor Mowery.

Football (7): Andrew Loria, Cole LaFave, Jacob Lederman, Justin Carrabino, Kendrick Green, Nicholas Pagano, and Tyler Knecht.

Women's Track and Field (6): Abigail Bansen, Delaney Stersic, Jaymz Gibson, Madelyn Birmingham, Michayla Miller, and Rachel Wiltse.

Women's Lacrosse (4): Danielle LaPointe, Mackenzie Fissette, Marissa Cirino, and Natalie Williams.

Women's Golf (3): Dakota Spears, Madisyn Reed, and Mya Price.

Women's Basketball (3): Addyson Tomczak, Kelsey Wyman, and Marcia Hawkins-Day.

Women's Volleyball (3): Aline Marinelo, Anna Tartarian, and Maddy Sitter.

Men's Track and Field (3): Bradley Bauer, Garrett Young, and Shane Skelcy.

Men's Lacrosse (3): Alec Emerson, Nolan Lyons, and Parker Richards.

Women's Cross Country (2): Michayla Miller and Rachel Wiltse.

Men's Cross Country (2): Bradley Bauer and Shane Skelcy.

Men's Basketball (2): DeMarco Dickerson and Jon Hovermale.

Competitive Dance (2): Jenna Stahl and Matelyn Yarbrough.

Competitive Cheer (1): Megan Serin.

Women's Bowling (1): Madeline Marcetti.

Men's Bowling (1): Travis Marcus.

Men's Golf (1): Aaron Bitz.

2020 NAIA Scholar Team Awards:

Women's Soccer (3.7 GPA), Softball (3.3 GPA), Baseball (3.2 GPA), Women's Basketball (3.0 GPA), Competitive Dance (3.6 GPA), Competitive Cheer (3.1 GPA), Men's Cross Country (3.2 GPA), Women's Cross Country (3.1 GPA), Women's Track & Field (3.3 GPA), Women's Golf (3.6 GPA), Men's Golf (3.3 GPA), Women's Lacrosse (3.3 GPA), Women's Bowling (3.4 GPA), Men's Soccer (3.3 GPA), Women's Volleyball (3.5 GPA), Men's Bowling (3.2 GPA).

To view the NAIA's official release, please click HERE